6n2 Polo gti engine in a sport

BaileyVW

right, basically im no mechanic, nor am i brilliant with cars however im trying to learn between my uni hours lol :)

My Lupo sport gearbox and clutch buggered on monday, i had an engine from my 6n2 polo gti which im breaking sitting around so got to work fitting it today.... the engine fits perfect and is currently running, however ( and this may sound very stupid ) but i need to know, would there be a difference in performance if i was to use the standard lupo Sport ECU over the polo Gti ECU???

please dont abuse me for my lack of knowledge haha :D and ill have my lupo sport engine up for sale if anybody is interested in it :D 2001 with about 57k on the clock runs spot on :)

it will run but like a bag of bones the fueling wont be right and the sport ecu dosnt support the vvt

bugger yeah i forgot sports dont have the VVT... thats what i thought the fueling wont be right lol... will it damage the engine in any way running it like this??? i might get on to swapping the ecu's tomorrow lol...

yeah i can sort the gti ecu out, theres a guy pretty local to me who can remove the chip so it works with my key :) so i assume this is the next step? get this ecu sorted and into my car??

sorry if i sound very dumb lol :) as i said im hardly a mechanic...

as olly says above the polo runs flyby wire not drive by wire so you will need the pedal from the polo and loom i assume you have the throttle body still on the engine

as olly says above the polo runs flyby wire not drive by wire so you will need the pedal from the polo and loom i assume you have the throttle body still on the engine

you may not tho as my sport was FBW?

couldnt you swap your head over then map your ECU??

the stuff inside the engine bay and pedals and what not transferred straight over they where exactly the same.... can anyone tell me whether the standard ECU from a sport is a magnetimarelli ecu???