Car doesn't like me! - Drove it too hard??

Took the car out for a bit of a drive yesterday and thought as I'd never really pushed it that hard I'd give it a good blast about.

Drove it through 3rd and 4th gear to the 6000 rev line before changing up as I've never done that before (usually change at about 5000 rev max for slightly better fuel economy - my lupo drinks it by the tanker load or at least seems to!). The car's a Lupo Sport and the red area doesn't start until 6500 revs.

Any way, after driving about 1/2 mile to work today the milage counter started flashing up with SERV or something before turning back to the milage with the word service left on near the milage figure.

The cars only done 1300 miles since I got it from Reg Vardy who told me it had been fully serviced and the sticker in the cab say service due at 57000 miles (now on 48350).

What's likely to have happened? Anyone else had this problem?

The lupo has timers on the service light for 3 things. If OIL is shown this is usually every 150 days. You then can have INSP which will come up on two occasions , every 360 days or 30000km's. With `Vag-com` this can be reset. VW would prob charge you £35 for the privelige.

QUOTE(tshirt2k)
VW would prob charge you £35 for the privelige.

But not if its under warranty & should have been reset...

As for taking it up to 6,000 rpm... don't worry about that - the GTi has its maximum power output at 6,300 rpm so mine regularly takes a trip up towards the red area!

hi,

yep this just about confirms what I thought but I thought I'd better give the full description of what was happening before it happened and not give my conclusions in case it was just dismissed as that (wanted to hear your comments).

I'm not bothered about ther revs, I knew from reading on here that there was a rev limiter before I got the car and it's never been past the 6500 red line area (agree with you Phlegyas - red looks bad so always change before hitting it!!)