The truth about re-maps (1.4 TDI sport)

CreosoteChris

Hello, new owner here

So I bought myself a Lupo TDI sport, great condition, FSH blah blah...... and I'm loving it. I'm utterly astonished about how much fun it is to drive along a twisty road. I bought it for the great fuel economy - but I'm thinking wouldn't it be amazing if it had an extra 20HP? However, if that means the car loses that fuel economy, or requires playing tunes on the gearbox to get the extra performance, them I'm not really interested.

As an engineer by profession, I am someone who exercises a healthy degree of scepticism, and likes to see experimental proof, rather than a bunch of marketing blurb, and I'm wondering about the claims of the chip-sellers (extra 25HP + better torque / driveability + better fuel economy - all for £200) - is this anywhere close to the truth? If these sort of gains are really possible, then forking out for a re-map seems like a no-brainer decision.

Does anyone have credible real-world experience of this upgrade? From my enginner-sceptic's standpoint, it seems a bit too good to be true - and we all know that if it seems too good to be true, it probably isn't true. Comments?

Thanks

Chris 1.4 TDI Sport, Manchester UK

'Superchips' make a remap that gives the 1.4TDI an extra 31 bhp, at a cost of £399. my moms boyfriend 'superchipped' his audi and it increases performance without affecting economy.

pricey though :/