Door hinge problem !

WightmanMk2

evening guys , im just new to this ! i have a mk2 arosa 1.4 16v sport since june last year and its been great . The only problem ive came across is the annoying noise when my passenger door is opened ! there are 2 black bolts ( one at top and one at bottom ) with black covers round them , the one at the bottom is missing which is helping make the noise ( isnt holding my door up fully ) , does anyone know how to take this bolt off as i have a lupo in my local scrapyard which i can get access to , just dont know how to remove ? also is it a common arosa/lupo thing for the engine management light to come on because of dirt trapped in the egr valve & throttle body ? getting them both cleaned out next week but jw if anyone has had the same problem .

Definately the hinges rather than the check strap?

And yes, the TB getting gunked up is reasonably common, due to the crankcase breather setup

Edited by Defcon5

well i might have to unscrew the check strap and lubricate it then retighten the bolts AGAIN , but its asif this bolt thats missing was meant to be holding the door at the right height , hence banging noise when shutting ! ill try get a picture tomorrow and see if i can get some help thanks .

this happened to me, was a loud clicking almost knocking coming from the latch that holds the door open.

turned out to be the nylon inserts between the bolts and the latch. currently sourcing some new ones, untill then ive just taken the latches off.

this happened to me, was a loud clicking almost knocking coming from the latch that holds the door open.

turned out to be the nylon inserts between the bolts and the latch. currently sourcing some new ones, untill then ive just taken the latches off.

I had the same symptom on one door. When opening the door, at about a quarter open, there was a loud CRACK! When closing the door, it made the same noise at the same point.