04 Seat Arosa S

Sangy

Hi All,

I put this in the wrong section before, sorry about that!

I am new to all this, so am a bit of a novice. I have just recently brought a Arosa S 1.0 and yesterday I noticed that something was broke in the engine compartment. I actually dont know what it is for? But i have managed to get a part number from one of the parts that make the whole package 1J0 906 517 B. I rang Seat Dealer and they say that is a valve but will not say what for?

There are two pipes which seem to connect to this part one comes from the engine and one from the back probably the petrol tank or so. Could this possibly something called a charcoal canister? I have had a look around google but i cant seem to find anything? Any help would be grateful!

I will upload pictures to show you lot what these pipes look like?

Thanks

• 3 weeks later...

Hello there,

I am new to this site so bear with me whilst i find my feet whilst i post!!

The item that you have descibed is known as the charcoal canister. This is like a storage tank for petrol vapours that come up from the petrol tank through a tube and into the canister. From the canister, it goes into the engine for burning. This charcoal canister is behind and under the driver side headlight so you will see it with a torch but its dark down there and quite hard to see. The wheel arch cover is next to it so there is not much light down there! However, if you look there will be a hole open in the top of the canister and this is where the purge valve connects to it.

The part that you have clearly identified is the called the "purge valve". to try and keep things simple it is a solenoid or "elecronic operated switch" that opens and shuts controlled by the cars electronic control unit (ECU) to allow these petrol vapours to travel through the canister and into the engine. This is identified in your photo with the two wires connected to it.