1TB HDD

Steve TDI

There are so many of them about now I have no idea which one to choose.

The ones at £80 look the same as the ones at £300!

What do you recommend and what should I look out for?

I am wanting an External one.

I am not good with computers so don't go too technical on me please.

:cheers:

I've got 2 160gb internals and they are almost full.

I'm not into computing but I do have a lot of music (40gb), films and tv programs filling things up.

If I get a TB then that should last me a while.

I don't even think it's got a good graphics card. All I asked for is that it can play solitare.

I would always go for a good branded model. Be wary of models with Western Digital drives as there seems to be an issue with certain drives.

...and remember, you will still want to back up your 'data' somewhere as all drives are subject to failure and virus.

If you are not going to want the data "mobile" I would consider upgrading one of the internal drives on your PC to 1TB and using it for storage.

You could then get a 1TB external and carry out a weekly back up to it.

I put a Samsung 1Tb (£52) in my desktop at home because my 320Gb and 160Gb drives were getting full. I replaced the 160Gb and left the 320Gb in (C:\ and D:\), partitioned the ITb into three and shifted everything across.

Edited by IDGM

I put a Samsung 1Tb (£52) in my desktop at home because my 320Gb and 160Gb drives were getting full. I replaced the 160Gb and left the 320Gb in (C:\ and D:\), partitioned the ITb into three and shifted everything across.

GEEK! :rolleyes:

I must be slowly getting to geekery. I partitioned it off myself without asking teacher, I've switched to Xubuntu on a laptop and run emulators on my Nintendo DS :paperbag:

I'll be entering Robot Wars next!

I would always go for a good branded model. Be wary of models with Western Digital drives as there seems to be an issue with certain drives.